That’s Mr. Mendes to You, Sir!

At last, the big day has come and gone. Ana and I couldn’t be happier. Despite all of our dire premonitions and last minute scrambling, everything miraculously came off without a hitch. Out-of-towner bags were delivered, hand-made favors made it to the tables, the trolley arrived on time, and, after a brief scare, the florist finally showed up and pinned on flowers. I didnt trip over the train at the alter, the twins made it down the aisle, and Anas dad turned out to be an amazing dance partner. Most fun of all, we had (in my best Bill Murray, Ghostbusters voice) “family and friends, hangin’ together; mass hysteria!” My beautiful bride, my wonderful family, my (mostly) in control friends. From the rehearsal dinner to the day-after brunch, we enjoyed and will cherish every minute of it.

I don’t have time to recount all of the weekend’s activities, as we still have to pack for Belize and run around the city returning tuxes, projector screens, and missing babies. But, anyone who was there will know that my brother gave a huge shout-out to the blog, and chances are that if you’re reading this right now you’re doing so at his suggestion.

So, in my best attempt to keep the party going, to avoid that “Graduate”-like bus ride, I’ll leave you all with just a couple more of my favorite Diller family cheers. These aren’t as borderline offensive as the ones from my Dads speech, but they’re charming still. Repeat after me:

I
What is the hinnerdale? What is the hinnerdale? What is the hinnerdale?
No one knows
Except Aunt Kate
And she wont tell.

II
ORDER FROM THE MENU! ORDER FROM THE MENU! ORDER FROM
THE MENU!
NO FRESH OYSTERS! NO FRESH OYSTERS!
ONLY FRIED!

III
Clos Vougeot!
Ropiteau!
Chambertin!
Morin!
Burgundy, Burgundy, Burgundy, Burgundy!
Ahhhhhhhhh!

Okay, the wife is now calling me, telling me we have no clean underwear for Belize (Come on, underwear? Who needs underwear in Central America?). I’ll post again in a couple weeks with a detailed assessment of the wedding, who slept with who, a how-to guide for how not to handle family photos at the wedding, and, of course, lots of picture of howler monkeys.
Yours in wedded bliss,
-Ted

